Save your Pennies, Count your Blessings

Freebies and Savings for the DFW!

Natural Skin Care That Won’t Cut You Pockets! October 13, 2010

Filed under: Saving Tips,skincare — Alexandria @ 5:09 am

Beauty and Hair care products can add up!! From shampoo to speciality treatments to remove zits, this industry is making millions on us! Well, for those of you who not just concerned with what is put on your face, but also looking at your pockets, the Imagemaven has some great tips and such on affordable skin care. Take a try! I actually use one of the scrubs every month.

Anyway here goes the story! Enjoy!

I recently switched from proactive to the oil cleansing method (OCM) about a month ago. If you want to learn more about my OCM routine click here.
Everything was going great, until *cue scary music* my chin started breaking out. I have very stubborn, acne prone skin and when I say break out I don’t mean a little pimple or two.

Like Tyra Banks, who tweeted a picture of her microscopic pimple the other day. Girl please. I could only WISH my pimples looked like that…shame.

Anyways, as I was saying, my chin has decided to break out into a monster zit that I cant get rid of! Then it decided to bring two of its friends too. I dont know if my chin is breaking out more (besides the initial zit) because I have been piling on a ton of makeup or what. But, I did switch back to my old faithful, proactive and I have been using the mask and everything, but to no avail. My face looks a hot mess. Luckily, I have an arsenal of MAC makeup and can cover up almost anything, but I still want the pimples gone. I’m trying to keep my skin care methods natural, but it’s hard when your face looks crazy. Here are a few natural spot treatment recipes I found that I am going to try. I’ll report back in a few days.

Honey and Cinnamon Spot Treatment:

Mix 2 tablespoons of Honey and 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. Apply to blemish and let sit for 20 minutes then rinse.

Groundnut Oil and Lime Juice Treatment

Mix 1 tablespoon of groundnut oil and 1 tablespoon of lime juice. Apply to blemish and let sit for 20 minutes then rinse.

Rosewater and Lime Juice Acne Treatment
Mix lime juice and rose water in equal portions and apply after washing the face. Keep it for 30 minutes and then again wash the face and pat dry.

Neem Powder & Lemon Treatment:
Mix teaspoon Neem Powder and enough lemon juice to make a thick paste. Apply to blemish and let sit for 20 minutes then rinse.
I hope these work! Let me know if any of you have tried these and what your results were.

 

Leave a Reply

